In 2009, A Century of Creighton University School of Law Faculty Publications, 1904-2004 was published. This digital collection continues that publication for faculty members who have left the Creighton University School of Law since 2004 and who have works that were not included in that publication. It includes the works written while they were affiliated with Creighton and provides electronic copies when available. Books, book chapters, articles, and book reviews are included, as well as continuing legal education and seminar materials (when a paper copy is available). Publications written by current faculty are available on the Current Faculty Publications page of the Creighton Digital Repository.

Andrus, Kay L. Pearlstein, Arthur
Aronson, Bruce E. Pearson, Eric
Belian, Julia Purcell, Thomas J., III
Chiappinelli, Eric A. Shugrue, Richard E.
Culhane, Marianne B. Strand, Palma J.
Dickhute, Nancy Lawler Strom, Lyle E.
Ebner, Noam Van Tassel, Katharine
Font-Guzman, Jacqueline Volkmer, Ronald R.
Kuttner, Ran Whitten, Ralph U.
Mayer, Bernard S. Wiseman, Christine M.
Mirkay, Nicholas A.

Recent Submissions

  • Some states adopt conditional admission 

    Richard E. Shugrue, Some States Adopt Conditional Admission, State Bar (Neb. State Bar Ass'n, Lincoln, Neb.), Aug. 1995, at 5.
  • CADA seeks first-person accounts of recovery from addictive behavior 

    Richard E. Shugrue, CADA Seeks First-Person Accounts of Recovery from Addictive Behavior, State Bar (Neb. State Bar Ass'n, Lincoln, Neb.), May 1996, at 9.
  • Roscoe Pound, Commissioner 

    Richard E. Shugrue, Roscoe Pound, Commissioner, Neb. Law., Aug. 2000, at 18.
  • CADA proposal would fund Lawyer Assistance Program 

    Richard E. Shugrue, CADA proposal would fund Lawyer Assistance Program, State Bar (Neb. State Bar Ass'n, Lincoln, Neb.), July 1995, at 6.
  • Law students at risk from alcohol, drug abuse 

    Richard E. Shugrue, Law Students at Risk from Alcohol, Drug Abuse, State Bar (Neb. State Bar Ass'n, Lincoln, Neb.), Jan. 1995, at 12.
  • Inquiry into a principle of "speech plus" 

    Richard E. Shugrue, An Inquiry into a Principle of "Speech Plus," 3 Creighton L. Rev. 267 (1970).
    Unfortunately, Americans have been ambivalent with regard to freedom of expression and nonverbal dissent. Nonverbal conduct which is intimately linked with expression of opinions has often been considered wholly unprotected ...
  • DC currents: TEC initiatives 

    DC currents: TEC initiatives, 36 Tax Adviser 297 (2005) (Thomas J. Purcell III ed.)
    Provides information on the Tax Executive Committee (TEC), a senior technical committee of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, which is authorized to speak for the Institute on tax matters and is also ...
  • Inapplicability of traditional tort analysis to environmental rists: The example of toxic waste pollution victim compensation 

    Palma J. Strand, Note, The Inapplicability of Traditional Tort Analysis to Environmental Risks: The Example of Toxic Waste Pollution Victim Compensation, 35 Stan. L. Rev. 575 (1983).
    Toxic waste disposal injuries are fundamentally different - in the time lag between disposal and injury and in the indeterminacy of causation of the injury - from the immediate, individualized wrongs for which tort law ...
  • Arlington's changing story: civic engagement in Arlington County, Virginia 

    Melinda D. Patrician & Palma J. Strand, Arlington's Changing Story: Civic Engagement in Arlington County, Virginia (2003).
    This report describes an assessment of civic engagement practices in Arlington County, Virginia - the processes, the results, and the themes that emerged. The report also contains recommendations for improving these practices ...
  • Civic engagement: A guide for communities 

    Palma J. Strand & Melinda D. Patrician, Civic Engagement: A Guide for Communities (2006).
    Civic engagement is a healthy way to solve problems, is good for community leaders, and is worth the inconvenience or bother that might be encountered along the way. The guide to civic engagement is neither an in-depth ...
  • Forced to bowl alone? 

    Palma J. Strand, Forced to Bowl Alone? Nation, Feb. 10, 2003, at 25 (reviewing Matthew A. Crenson & Benjamin Ginsberg, Downsizing Democracy: How America Sidelined Its Citizens and Privatized Its Public (2002)).
    The state of civic participation in the U.S. is the subject of much hand-wringing. The lament is generally that citizens are withdrawn - that civic life is less vibrant than it once was and should be. This book review ...
  • East Palo Alto: A community divided 

    Palma J. Strand, Note, East Palo Alto: A Community Divided, 4 Stan. Env. L. Ann. 119 (1982).
    East Palo Alto is an anomaly in the Mid-Peninsula. The community houses a primarily minority and low-income population. The economic miracle which brought development and tax revenues to the rest of the Silicon Valley has ...
  • Gaining on the gap: Changing hearts, minds, and practice 

    Robert G. Smith, Alvin L. Crawley, Cheryl Robinson, Timothy Cotman Jr., Marty Swaim & Palma Strand, Gaining on the Gap: Changing Hearts, Minds, and Practice (2011).
  • School climate 

    Palma Strand & Melinda Patrician, School Climate, Educ. Wk., June 13, 2001, at 38.
    The hot-button issue of the gaps in achievement in education between white students on the one hand and black and Latino students on the other has multiple aspects: tracking; enrollment in accelerated classes; referral to ...
  • Elementary school team five years later 

    Palma Strand & Carol Skelly, Elementary School Team Five Years Later, Spotlight on Arlington Schools, June 1999.
  • 50 years of loving: A reflection on seeking justice through love and relationships 

    Nicholas A. Mirkay, 50 Years of Loving: A Reflection on Seeking Justice Through Love and Relationships, 50 Creighton L. Rev. 685 (2017).
  • Reflections on the Loving conference: Race, identity, community, and conflict 

    Bernard Mayer, Reflections on the Loving Conference: Race, Identity, Community, and Conflict, 50 Creighton L. Rev. 745 (2017).
  • Personal reflection on 50 years of Loving: Creating spaces of differences by demanding "The right to opacity" 

    Jacqueline N. Font- Guzmán, Personal Reflection on 50 Years of Loving: Creating Spaces of Differences by Demanding “The Right to Opacity,” 50 Creighton L. Rev. 637 (2017).
  • 50 Years of Loving: Seeking Justice Through Love and Relationships 

    Palma Joy Strand, 50 Years of Loving: Seeking Justice Through Love and Relationships, 50 Creighton L. Rev. 617 (2017) (symposium introduction).
  • Loving and Loving: Eroding the Stance of Other 

    Palma Joy Strand, Loving and Loving: Eroding the Stance of Other, 50 Creighton L. Rev. 621 (2017).
    Race as a social construct has the core function of "other"ing. Loving v. Virginia erodes the stance of "other," both for those in interracial marriages and relationships and those who are multiracial or mixed. The social ...

View more